Simian Mobile Disco - Live Live… So live that it actually takes place while you listen to it

Review: Simian Mobile Disco – Live

Published on April 1st, 2013 | Jonny Abrams

Sometimes mischievous, sometimes sinister, sometimes wibbly, sometimes gloopy, usually funky and dancefloor-friendly, unyieldingly synaesthetic and lysergic: this is the Simian Mobile Disco live experience condensed into audio for your everyday home entertainment, recorded “in one take during a live show in Philadelphia back in December 2012 with no post production or editing”.

The icy, steamy analogue techno on display here is redolent of the sadly missed FC Kahuna, with little sign left by now of their origins as Simian, whose albums Chemistry is What We Are and We Are Your Friends are cast iron Rocksucker favourites. SMD are pretty darn great in their own right, splattering satisfyingly otherworldly textures all over last year’s splendid Unpatterns LP and continuing their compelling evolution since the nutty, propulsive electro of 2007 debut Attack Decay Sustain Release.

Is it just us, or does the sound quality seem to take a bit of a dive for the last few tracks? Anyway, it’s hard not to pine for the Simian of old, but Simian Mobile Disco are welcome anytime.

Rocksucker says: Three and a Half Quails out of Five!

a quaila quaila quailhalf a quail

The full track list of Live by Simian Mobile Disco is:

1. “Your Love Ain’t Fair/Run Theme”
2. “A Species Out of Control”
3. “Unfixed”
4. “Supermoon”
5. “Cerulean”
6. “It’s the Beat”
7. “Skin Cracker”
8. “Hustler (jam)”
9. “Aspic”
10. “Wooden”
11. “Seraphim”
12. “Cruel Intentions”
13. “Interference”
14. “Put Your Hands Together”
15. “Sleep Deprivation”

For more information, please click here to visit the official Simian Mobile Disco website.


About the Author

Editor of Rocksucker and the website's founder, Jonny is passionate about the music he listens to, both good and bad, as well as interviewing his favourite musicians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *